Today, I Thought I was a Gonner

We were leaving Des Moines, Iowa, traveling on route 80.  It was rush hour and there is a place where routes 80 and 235 merge and there is also an ‘Exit Only’ lane on the right.  Really bad road design.  Anyhow, I almost became the meat between the two pieces of bread.  There was a black SUV on my left that wanted to get to my right and a white SUV on my right that wanted to get to my left.  I don’t think either of them saw me as they proceeded as if I wasn’t there.  There was a voice in my head telling me to put on the breaks or else it would be curtains for me.  It was a very frightening moment.  I was shaking for about 1/2 hour after that.  Another incident was where a tractor trailer pulled out of a rest stop along with 3 other tractor trailers and then immediately slowed down and eventually pulled over to the side of the road.  That could have been a multiple car accident that involved 4 tractor trailers along with several cars.  Fortunately, traffic was light which allowed the cars and the 18 wheelers in the right lane to move over to the left lane.  I am glad that we made it to Cozad, Nebraska all in one piece.

Both Lou and I are feeling road weary.  Homer still hasn’t eaten since Friday morning.  I add water to his wet food and he at least licks the water.  He didn’t get any drugs today as we were thinking that the drugs were suppressing his appetite.

We are staying at the Roadway Inn in Cozad.  Homer gets to stay for FREE.  The room is really nice.  I would give this place 5 stars.  We may go into town later this evening.  It looks like a quaint place with some history to it.  The fundies are here, too, as there is advertisement for a ‘creationist’ museum at the front desk.  Hummm.

About Cats r Flyfishn

Never look down on someone unless you are helping them up.
This entry was posted in Road Trip and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Today, I Thought I was a Gonner

  1. Zooey says:

    Oh jeebus, Carol. 😦 Some people really do think they own the road. Stay safe. (((hugs)))

  2. Ebb says:

    I hit ‘like’ for the fact you survived – thank the stars!

Leave a Reply

